The 2017 Community Impact Awards

Presented by
Publicity Sponsor
Bar Sponsor

We are honored to announce the finalists for the 2017 Community Impact Awards. Winners will be announced at the gala on February 23, 2017 and will be featured in the March issue of Minnesota Business magazine.

About the Event
The 2017 Community Impact Awards honor businesses, social enterprise organizations, nonprofits, initiatives and individuals making a significant impact on communities in Minnesota. This is the first time we are including nonprofit organizations in the awards, in recognition of their profound influence on the quality of life in our state.

Angela Davis anchors for WCCO on Sunday nights and reports during the week. Prior to anchoring on Sunday evenings, Angela anchored the weekday morning and noon newscasts. Angela holds a journalism degree from the University of Maryland, College Park and grew up in southern Va. She has won four regional Emmy Awards for Anchoring and Breaking News coverage. As the recipient of the National Association of Black Journalists Ethel Payne Fellowship for Africa in 1995, Angela spent one month in Kenya producing a documentary.

Click here to read the press release announcing the finalists.

Click here to see 2016 Community Impact Award winners.

2017 Community Impact Award Finalists

Best in Class: Small Company
Bankers Title and Bankers Closing Services
Love Your Melon

Best in Class: Midsize Company
Carmichael Lynch
Northeast Bank

Best in Class: Large Company
Bell Bank
Deluxe Corporation
Lakewinds Food Co-op

Arts and Culture Award
Hennepin Theatre Trust
Juxtaposition Arts

Nonprofit Board Member of the Year Award
Annie Hotop, Secretary, Laura Jeffrey Academy Board
Julie Peterson Klein, President, Spare Key
Patty Murphy, Board Member, MacPhail Center for Music

Nonprofit Spotlight Award
College Possible Minnesota
Companies to Classrooms
Newborn Foundation

Youth Initiative Award
Hennepin Elementary School (HES) 
Hiway Federal Credit Union

Pro Bono Maximus Award
Maslon LLP
Mytech Partners, Inc. 

Social Enterprise Award
Appetite For Change
Cookie Cart
Fair Anita

Sustainability Award
GYST Fermentation Bar
Lakewinds Food Co-op

Workplace Giving Award
Bell Bank
Piper Jaffray
RBA, Inc. 

Paragon of Leadership Award
Andrew Eklund, Co-Founder and CEO, Ciceron
Brian Myres, COO at DAYTA Marketing
Kim Brown, President, JNBA Financial Advisors
Teresa Daly, CEO and Co-Founder, Navigate Forward, Inc.

How are finalists chosen?
Each nomination process consists of a 3 month period where nominations are solicited and submitted through the Minnesota Business web portal. Once nominations close, they are collected and distributed to an internal review team. The internal review team is responsible for narrowing down the nominations in each category to the top five. These top five are then submitted to an external judging panel, which consists of industry experts across all professional platforms. Judges rank their top three in each category. Based on the rankings, Minnesota Business calculates the scores and solidifies the winner and two finalists to announce. Finalists are notified by email from our Editor in Chief, Steve LeBeau, and winners are announced at the awards gala.